The British Firework Championships – Plymouth 

The British Firework Championships, held annually in Plymouth, Britain’s Ocean City, will return on Wednesday 18 and Thursday 19 August 2021.

The spectacular pyrotechnics competition, hosted by Plymouth City Council and The Event Services Association (TESA) sees six firework companies battle it out over two nights, all competing to be crowned the nation’s best.

The 2020 competition was cancelled due to the coronavirus pandemic, but this year’s competitors have been invited back to take up the challenge in 2021.

Deputy Council Leader Pete Smith said: “The British Firework Championships really are the jewel in the crown of our brilliant annual events programme and we’re delighted to be able to announce the dates for 2021 – remember to pop it in your diaries as it’s always an unmissable event.

“We’re hoping to bounce back next year with a packed summer event programme, with not only the fireworks to look forward to but also the Mayflower International Festival and the Grand Prix of sailing, SailGP”.

The British Firework Championships has been held in Plymouth every year since 1997. The displays are fired from Mount Batten Pier in Plymouth Sound, which provides a natural amphitheatre for the sparkling show.

The fireworks are watched by up to an estimated 100,000 people from viewpoints all around the natural harbour, but the best viewpoint is Plymouth Hoe where thousands of people gather to gaze in awe at the ten-minute displays.

Jim Winship, Director of TESA said: “We are looking forward to returning to Plymouth in 2021. After a fallow year for fireworks across the UK, we are keen to get back on track with a spectacular show to celebrate the return of the Championships.”

The fireworks will start from around 9.30 pm, with three ten-minute displays each evening. There’s entertainment, including a funfair, and food and drink stalls to enjoy on Plymouth Hoe before the spectacle begins.

For the latest updates about the British Firework Championships, please see or